Okay, well, now the focus of yours truly does not stray to the Leafs anymore (NEXT YEAR?  that division they will be in is much much tougher)


Postmedia News

By Matthew Pearson, OTTAWA CITIZEN

OTTAWA — Premier Kathleen Wynne has asked a panel of former MPPs to draft a long-term plan to implement recommendations it made last year to overhaul Ontario’s horse racing industry.

The Liberals want John Snobelen, John Wilkinson and Elmer Buchanan, who comprise the Horse Racing Industry Transition Panel, to draft a consultation plan by June, with a final plan to be completed by October.

Wynne wants the panel to deliver a plan that sets a clear path forward on modernizing the governance and regulation of the horse racing industry, growing the fan base and providing more wagering options, providing ongoing government support and ensuring animal welfare.

The panel will work with industry partners, the Ministry of Finance and the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation on integrating horse racing with the province’s gaming strategy to offer new gaming products and generate additional revenue.

Wynne says her government is committed to supporting a sustainable racing industry as part of its plan to create jobs and help people with their everyday lives.



Hopefully Premier WYNNE will not take long to get the guy below out on the street where he belongs…



Both pride and purses will be on the line for eight male and female riders in the inaugural $34,000 Xpressbet Jockey Challenge on Friday at Pimlico Race Course.

Past winners Javier Castellano, Rosie Napravnik and Emma-Jayne Wilson join locally based riders Kristina McManigell and Forest Boyce and are among the participants in Pimlico’s first riding competition to combine some of the country’s top male and female jockeys in head-to-head competition.

Friday’s card is highlighted by seven stakes, including the $500,000 Black-Eyed Susan (G2) for 3-year-old fillies and the $300,000 Pimlico Special (G3) for older horses; as well as the Lady Legends for the Cure IV, sponsored by Wells Fargo. A pari-mutuel event with eight retired female riding pioneers, the race is run as part of a joint effort between Pimlico and Susan G. Komen for the Cure, the world’s largest breast cancer organization.




Can the Kentucky Derby come right back and win the Preakness?

13 times since AFFIRMED’S Triple Crown sweep the Derby winner has come right back and 3 times in last 9 nine years.
Kentucky Derby winners who won Preakness since 1978
2012     I’ll Have Another     Mario Gutierrez     Doug O’Neill     J. Paul Reddam     2:01.83     I
2008     Big Brown     Kent Desormeaux     Richard E. Dutrow, Jr.     IEAH Stables / P. Pompa     2:01.82     I
2004     Smarty Jones     Stewart Elliott     John Servis     Someday Farm     2:04.06     I
2003     Funny Cide     Jose Santos     Barclay Tagg     Sackatoga Stable     2:01.19     I
2002     War Emblem     Victor Espinoza     Bob Baffert     Thoroughbred Corp.     2:01.13     I
1999     Charismatic     Chris Antley     D. Wayne Lukas     Bob & Beverly Lewis     2:03.20     I
1998     Real Quiet     Kent Desormeaux     Bob Baffert     Michael E. Pegram     2:02.20     I
1997     Silver Charm     Gary Stevens     Bob Baffert     Bob & Beverly Lewis     2:02.40     I
1989     Sunday Silence     Pat Valenzuela     Charlie Whittingham     H-G-W Partners     2:05.00     I
1988     Winning Colors ‡     Gary Stevens     D. Wayne Lukas     Eugene V. Klein     2:02.20     I
1987     Alysheba     Chris McCarron     Jack Van Berg     D. & P. Scharbauer     2:03.40     I
1979     Spectacular Bid     Ronnie Franklin     Bud Delp     Hawksworth Farm     2:02.40     I
1978     Affirmed †     Steve Cauthen     Laz Barrera     Harbor View Farm     2:01.20




Orb     C. McGaughey III  J. Rosario 1-1

Goldencents D. O’Neill K. Krigger 6-1

Departing A. Stall Jr. B. Hernandez Jr. 8-1

Mylute T. Amoss R. Napravnik 8-1

Itsmyluckyday E. Plesa Jr. J. Velazquez 10-1

Will Take Charge D.W. Lukas M. Smith 10-1

Govenor Charlie B. Baffert M. Garcia 12-1

Oxbow D.W. Lukas G. Stevens 12-1

Titletown Five  D.W. Lukas J. Leparoux 20-1


Below – GOVERNOR CHARLIE by Midnight Lute, by-passed the Derby.. worked in 1:10 4/5 yesterday. Associated Press






Leinan, the beaten favourite in the Star Shoot Stakes on opening weekend at Woodbine, bounced back to win the Inaugural Stakes on opening day at Presque Isle two nights ago. The Jim and Alice Sapara owned filly by Ready’s Image is trained by Josie Carroll.


Leinan, a 3-year-old filly ridden by Morales and trained by Josie Carroll, won the seventh running of the $100,000 Inaugural Stakes on Sunday’s opening night at the thoroughbred racetrack.

A crowd of 898 wagered $49,919, with an off-track handle of $485,219.

The win was the second of three on the evening for Morales, who won a meet-record 130 races in 2012 worth nearly $3 million.

Leinan stalked the pace and drew off to an easy 51/2-length victory over long shot Ghost Flower in the six-furlong sprint for 3-year-old fillies.

Leinan paid $13.40 to win, while Ghost Flower, at 40-to-1, paid $36.60 to place. The heavily-favored Cor Cor (1-to-2) gave way in the stretch and finished third


LAST NIGHT, Debmar Stables’ DAN THE TIN MAN, recently gelding and winner at Woodbine took the Tom Ridge Stakes. Ricky Griffith trains the son of Songandaprayer.

chart from Thoroughbred Daily News:

TOM RIDGE S., $100,000, PID, 5-13, 3yo, 6f (AWT), 1:09 3/5, ft.
1–DAN THE TIN MAN, 121, g, 3, by Songandaprayer
1st Dam: Mrs. M (GSP, $182,677), by Mecke
2nd Dam: Sweet Hot Pepper, by World Appeal
3rd Dam: Kinky’s Jet, by Tri Jet
($22,000 yrl ’11 KEESEP). O-Debmar Stables;
B-Moreau Bloodstock International Inc (FL); T-Ricky
Griffith; J-Scott Spieth. $60,000. Lifetime Record:
8-3-0-1, $211,143.


Mark E. Casse     40     7     10     7     $546,668
Robert P. Tiller     26     7     5     4     $294,087
Michael J. Doyle     21     6     4     4     $172,978
Darwin D. Banach     10     5     1     2     $79,588
David Cotey     25     4     2     1     $103,217
Malcolm Pierce     10     4     1     1     $212,245
Nicholas Gonzalez     25     3     3     3     $124,973
Ross Armata     11     3     3     2     $86,113
Pat Parente     8     3     1     1     $149,634



Luis Contreras     76     16     11     13     $742,540
Eurico Rosa Da Silva     56     16     9     3     $561,593
Patrick Husbands     55     14     9     10     $829,539
Justin Stein     47     9     8     3     $627,573
Jesse M. Campbell     50     7     6     9     $455,297
Emma-Jayne Wilson     58     5     11     8     $295,832
Omar Moreno     32     5     2     4     $181,476
Jermaine V. Bridgmohan     20     5     1     5     $136,147